10 Comments
author

I actually made a real forum like months ago and I ashamedly neglected it. I loved it but I took on too many projects! I think like 50 ppl joined. I want to resurrect it because it rocked, but the idea of having to moderate something sounds like my actual worst nightmare. Anyway I thought it would be cool to test out this bizarre function on Substack and see how it works. THANKS for indulging me. I hope people reply LOL

Expand full comment
Jan 16, 2021Liked by Molly Frances

I have also deactivated Instagram - mainly because of procrastination and a looming deadline for our book on the climate crisis, ecofeminism and the bold new world we all know is possible... Have been thinking about online communities quite a lot as well during these past days, moving away from corporate social media seems the only way, so these are some ideas that were inspiring:

www.dontgobacktonormal.world

Expand full comment
Jan 16, 2021Liked by Molly Frances

Love this, I've been reading the chalice and the blade and thinking about ghosts. And I did see a bird! but it did not fly into my window

Expand full comment
Jan 17, 2021Liked by Molly Frances

I really, really appreciate the two articles of yours that I just read on here, thank you. I am one of those people you mentioned with OCD and I am completely paralyzed by cancel culture, to the extent that I struggle with making and sharing my art, which is one of the most important things to me. Anyway, lately I’ve been thinking/learning/reading/listening to Freddie Mercury; his life story, fabulous outfits, incredible voice, gender-bending, and all around awesomeness 🥰

Expand full comment
Jan 17, 2021Liked by Molly Frances

I’ve been thinking about humans as emotional creatures / animals and how we think we are logical but we are not. I’ve been reading Begin Again by Eddie Glaude and it’s amazing — beautiful analysis of James Baldwin.

Expand full comment
Jan 17, 2021Liked by Molly Frances

Reading Don Quixote with two friends in Germany. We read about 20 pages a day. And on the last day, we’ll read the last chapter at the same time so we finish together. It’s a good way to read a book you might not otherwise read. Or finish.

Expand full comment
Jan 17, 2021Liked by Molly Frances

Getting ready for the semester to start in a week and taking care of my plants. I'm reading On this Earth We're Briefly Gorgeous and it's actually making me cry. Like I don't think a book has ever made me cry before! The hype is real. Also creating a Moodle page for the Neurodiversity Club that I started at school and hoping to help neurodivergent students stay in school and succeed. So, lots of zoom meetings this week with various people in the administration.

Expand full comment

I realized I was using social media wellness discourse to fill a void left by the intensity of previous cult-like experiences and that I was spending wayyy too much time focused on my “healing” and that what I really needed to do was stop trying to change my personality and do something productive for a change! So I’m writing again :)

Expand full comment